Home Forums Weaver Xtreme Theme Is it necessary to create a child theme for updates?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    inprogress85
    Participant

Is it necessary for me to create child themes for upcoming changes to themes?  Or will the updates not screw up my present theme?  Thanks..(As you can see, I am new to this.)

Weaver
    Keymaster

Child themes are an advanced technique used if you need to alter the behavior of standard theme files (for any theme). You should never, ever modify the original theme’s files – but create a child. Very few people need to do that. Child themes allow you to alter code in the original theme in a way that allows the theme to be updated, yet preserves the changes you made in the child theme.

But we are talking about files, not settings. If you are just using standard themes options, then updates won’t change anything with your settings.)

inprogress85
    Participant

I think I understand what you are saying…for example if I get a notice that there is an update for my theme from 1.2.2 to 1.2.4..do I need a child theme to do this?

Weaver
    Keymaster

I suspect the answer you need is – NO, you don’t need a child theme UNLESS you’ve directly edited a file from the existing version of the theme. That is a HUGE no-no, but sometimes ignorant plugin authors will tell people to do exactly that – modify a file in a theme. That should never never never be done. That is when one needs a child theme.

inprogress85
    Participant

Thanks a lot, weaver. So all I need to do to make the necessary changes to weaver ii, update  2.2 etc..is to install the Weaver ii theme extras plugin and follow instructions…no child theme needed..

scrambler

All settings including Custom CSS you put in the admin pages survives any updates.

As a regular precaution, always save and backup your settings first using the Save / restore page SAVE button and Download All settings option

inprogress85
    Participant