Home Forums Weaver Xtreme Theme Big problem changing or even uninstalling Weaver Xtreme theme

Topic Resolution: Resolved
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    ColorSlide.com
    Participant

After several years I decided to uncomplicate my website, https://colorslide.com/ by redesigning it and simplifying it.  I changed the theme to WordPress 2021 two months ago.  I just went there in Edge and I got the following…

screenshot

It can’t find my new homepage and I don’t understand why the Weaver theme is still displaying.  I’ve emptied the cache everywhere I can, but it still shows up.

So, I went to Firefox to see what that looks like and it looks like my redesign.

2nd screenshot

How can this be?  I don’t understand it and I’ve been building websites since 1996.  WordPress makes it easier.

So, I decided to uninstall Weaver Xtreme with the WordPress Themes tool > Weaver theme details > Delete.  Doing that resulted in no website online at all!  What I saw was a message that WordPress was looking for Weaver Xtreme!  Yikes!

Luckily, I use BlogVault to create backups that I could restore to.  However, the Weaver theme still appears as above.  The Weaver theme can’t find my new homepage or any other pages, so it always displays the 404 page.

I’m at my wits end on this problem.  I will swallow my pride and humbly ask for some help.  I think I need to delete Weaver Xtreme and the problem will be solved.  That didn’t work.  It deleted my entire website.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

George

Weaver
    Keymaster

When I go to your link, it shows the new site.

There should be no issues deleting an unused theme after you’ve set your theme to be something else.

If fact, this seems to be a caching issue. If you are using any caching plugin or service (e.g., Cloudflare), be sure you cleared the caches, including any browser caching.

ColorSlide.com
    Participant